Now is Not the Time

Just when you need to be on your toes, when you need to be your best, that’s when it hits. Something happens and you feel like you’ve been hit in the stomach by a brick. It encompasses your thoughts and distracts you from everything else. The life you’ve planned fails, and that forces you to question everything about your life. “Am I at the right school?” “Am I on the right career path?” “What is my purpose in life?”

For me, after I received some news that troubled me, it was all I could think about. “What is my next step?” “Am I doing the right thing?” My passions that were once so strong began to fade. The things I tried to accomplish seemed irrelevant. I started to question the path that I was trying to pursue. It seemed like I should give up.

But now is not the time to give up. Now is the time to change perspectives. Instead of focusing on everything that went wrong, now is the time to focus on the big picture. Now is the time to focus on the artist of the big picture. The one that paints the story of the world and cares for His creation. God, the God of the Bible, is this artist.

God created the whole universe and orchestrates the lives of all humankind. God created everything and sustains everything. He is in control of everything. He sustains everything from the furthest star to the tiniest microorganism. What does that mean? Let me tell you. The speed of light is almost three-hundred million meters per second. That means light can travel around the earth seven times in one second. God created and controls light. From another example, the known universe is about forty-six billion light-years in size. God created and controls that too. That makes a person feel extremely small, and that’s what’s so amazing about it. The God that created all of that cares about the thoughts and concerns of humans. In fact He cares so much for humankind that He sent His son to die for our sins to provide salvation for His children. And it doesn’t stop there. God cares about the hurts and hopes of humans. He is not some lofty God looking down on the earth. He is an intimate God that is involved in the affairs of humankind.

God cares about the news that I got that hurt me. He knows it caused me to question my passions, and He knows it was best for me. He knows that I needed a shift of perspective to fix my eyes on God and His plan. He knows that His love is what I really need, not my own plan. And you know what, He’s right. I’m not mad about what has happened. I’m not mad about anything that has happened. It’s all in God’s plan. He ordained it before I was even born. Even further than that though, I am not mad because as a result of it I have a new desire. I want to be so lost in love with God that my problem doesn’t even matter anymore. I want to trust Him completely with my life. God has a plan for my life, and it will be better than anything I could have ever imagined.

Now is not the time to give up on my passions, no. God gave me those passions. Now is the time to pursue my passion, but with a different perspective, and with a different purpose. Now is the time to pursue my passion with the purpose of glorifying God. I have been blessed beyond comparison. My life is held in God’s hands. He knows my hurts and cares about my dreams. Despite what happened, I am still okay, because my hope is set, my faith is firm, and my eternity is sealed. Anything else seems irrelevant in comparison to the love of God.

One thought on “Now is Not the Time

Leave a Reply

